Strawberry Milkshake Cupcakes *Gluten-free and Lactose-free*

It can’t just be me – the day after having one too many drinks I crave strawberry milkshake. I crave it so bad. Actually, I find that I crave pretty much all of the things I can’t eat – pizza, sausage rolls (or, really, anything covered in pastry), cake, proper buttercream, ice cream..

IMG_0289_edited

So imagine my horror recently when browsing the internet in the barely-functioning, pathetic state of self-loathing we underwhelmingly call a hangover I came across a picture of strawberry milkshake cupcakes! My mind near enough exploded with desire.

IMG_0292_edited

So strong was my need for these that somehow, inexplicably, I there and then managed to piece together a recipe. AND I resisted my inner ache for lactose and made them gluten- and lactose-free! I’m still not certain how it happened. All I know is that after a few of these, a cup of tea, and an episode or two of Star Wars (the original ones, naturally) my hangover simply faded into the ether…

IMG_0295_edited

Ok not quite, but the cupcakes sure didn’t hurt 😉

Strawberry Milkshake Cupcakes – Gluten and Lactose Free

Makes 14-16

Ingredients

For the Cakes:

  • 70g Stork or other margarine
  • 210g self-raising gluten-free flour
  • 1 scant tsp baking powder
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 210ml lactose-free milk (whole or semi-skimmed lactose-free is best here but feel free to give it a whirl with soya/almond/other dairy-free milks)
  • 2 eggs
  • 40g strawberry milkshake powder*
  • pink food colouring (optional)

For the Icing:

  • 500g icing sugar (sifted)
  • 160g Stork or other margarine
  • 50ml lactose-free milk (same as above)
  • 100g strawberry milkshake powder*
  • 1-2 tsp pink food colouring

Method

For the Cakes:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C/155°C fan
  2. Prepare muffin tins by double lining with cupcake cases
  3. Using an electric whisk, cream the Stork and sugar together in a large bowl until light and fluffy
  4. In one bowl, mix together the milkshake powder, milk and eggs and in another, the flour and baking powder
  5. With your whisk on low speed, gradually add the flour mix and milk mix in alternate goes, and mix thoroughly until combined
  6. Add in some pink food colouring if you like – I added about a teaspoon to mine which made the batter pink, but alas after cooking the cupcakes were hardly pink at all 😦 So if you’re after pink cupcakes don’t hold back with the food colouring!
  7. Raise the whisk speed and mix until smooth (my mix here was quite liquidy – don’t worry it’ll turn out just fine!)
  8. Fill your cupcake cases 2/3 full (about 2 heaped tablespoons)
  9. Bake for 25-30 minutes until a skewer comes out clean
  10. Leave to cool slightly before removing from the tins and onto a wire rack

For the Icing:

  1. Combine the milkshake powder with the milk and food colouring and stir until fully dissolved
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the Stork until smooth, before gradually adding in the icing sugar and milkshake mix
  3. Whisk on low until just combined, then ramp up the speed and whisk on high until smooth, light and fluffy.
  4. Note that this icing has quite a runny consistency, which you can just pour over the cupcakes and let run to the edge. The icing is really sweet so in my opinion this is the perfect amount! However if you want your icing piled high (which lets face it, would look awesome) I imagine being a lot more frugal with the milk will give you a nice pipable consistency 🙂

IMG_0301_edited   IMG_0290_edited

*I used Nestlé’s Nesquik powder (see here): Nesquik powder is essentially gluten and lactose free, however the box does contain a cross-contamination warning that it is ‘made on equipment that processes milk, wheat and soy’ – so depending on how careful you want to be, you may want to find a brand which specifically states absolute gluten-free-ness. I have done some digging around on the internet (reliable source of information I know :P) and the general consensus is that Nesquik is safe, it never used to have the cc warning on and is likely just Nestlé trying to avoid being sued! And hell, I’ve been eating these just fine!

Leave a Reply

