Put the lime in the coconut…cupcake…

First off, let me apologise for the terrible pictures here. I made these quite a while ago, before I started to get the knack of making things not look like a dogs breakfast.

OK disclaimer over! Let us continue..

I don’t know if i’ve ever described quite how much I enjoy a tipple every now and then (bear with me, there’s a link here eventually). At uni, we lived dangerously near a bar which sold, amongst many other delightful cocktails, daquiris for Β£2. Thats right, TWO POUNDS. I’ve really never come across anything like it before or, much to my dismay, since. I consumed a dangerous amount of daquiris over the 4 years I was there: strawberry daquiris, raspberry daquiris, passionfruit daquiris…I think you can see where this is going..coconut daquiris…

CIMG1520

So what do you do when you find yourself craving a coconut daquiri at the really quite socially unacceptable time of 11am? Why, you make coconut lime cupcakes of course! Ideally there would be rum in the recipe and really, if I make them again I absolutely will add some, there was simply none in the house. I’d probably drunk it when the last craving hit..

CIMG1533

Smashing. I took inspiration from lemon drizzle cake when formulating a recipe, so they’re coconut lime drizzle cupcakes if we’re going to get all precise about it πŸ˜‰ I do love the crisp, crackly top you get on drizzle cakes, and it can look stunning on a loaf cake, but I feel as cupcakes the decoration seems somewhat..lacking..so I’d definitely add icing next time. Perhaps a coconut and rum meringue icing… I shall no doubt re-attempt and report back at some point in the distant future.

CIMG1521

Recipe is OF COURSE gluten and lactose free πŸ™‚

Coconut and Lime Drizzle Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 100g Stork (or insert generic baking margarine name here)
  • 150g gluten free self-raising flour (make sure the mix has Xanthan gum in – like dis one)
  • 75g dessicated coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder (gluten-free baking powder is now pretty much standard in my local supermarket – woop!)
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 9 tbsp almond/other dairy free milk (you may need to add a little more if the mixture is very thick, I’ve got 9tbsp written down but in the back of my mind I thought I remembered having to add more…yup, starting to lose my marbles. At 22. Ohh dear.)
  • zest of 2 limes (zest before juicing!!)
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 100g caster sugar
  • flaked coconut, to decorate (or something a little more appealing looking perhaps! Coconut flakes do look a bit like old toenail clippings don’t they?)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190Β°C/170Β°C fan
  2. Fill a 12 holed cupcake pan with cases (I like to double case mine, much less messy when it comes to nom time)
  3. With an electric whisk, cream the stork and sugar together on medium until pale and fluffy
  4. Add the eggs one at a time, each followed by one tablespoon of flour
  5. Add the rest of the flour, baking powder, coconut, milk and lime zest and slowly mix until combined – this is where you may need to add a little more milk, the mixture should drop easily off a spoon, without being liquidy
  6. Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases, to about 2/3 full
  7. Bake for about 20 minutes until springy to touch and a skewer comes out clean
  8. While they are baking, make the glaze by beating together the sugar and lime juice
  9. When the cakes are still hot, jab each a few times with a skewer and pour over the glaze
  10. Leave to cool for 10 minutes in the tin before moving to a wire rack
  11. Decorate as you see fit πŸ™‚ Preferably with a bit more gusto than I did.

CIMG1524

2 thoughts on “Put the lime in the coconut…cupcake…

Leave a Reply

